AAMA Board of Directors votes unanimously to name Kim Flanary as Honorary Member

AAMA Board of Directors votes unanimously to name Kim Flanary as Honorary Member
Photo source

Date: 1 March 2019

As announced at the AAMA 82nd Annual Conference, the AAMA Board of Directors voted unanimously to designate former association leader Kim Flanary as an AAMA Honorary Member.

Flanary, who passed away in November, is now the 14th person in the association's history to receive honorary membership. The last member to be honored in this way was Bill Deuschle, who retired from Kawneer in 2016.

"Kim is more than deserving of the distinction," said Ray Garries (vice president of engineering and innovation, MI Windows and Doors), one of the AAMA members who nominated Flanary for honorary membership status. "His impact on AAMA over many years, his strong leadership and his commitment to the industry qualifies him. He exemplified a great trade association leader by studying to understand the varied markets and manufacturers. He then, not only helped his own company, but helped all the manufacturers build better products, and helped consumers buy with confidence."

Kim Flanary Honorary Member PR

Honorary membership is given only to exemplary members who have held multiple leadership positions in AAMA, have demonstrated continuous participation in AAMA for 20 years or more and who have retired from the industry having shown exceptional dedication to the association.

"I had the privilege of knowing and working with Kim through AAMA since 2009," said Joe Hayden (principal engineer, Pella Corporation), another AAMA member who nominated Flanary. "He was the epitome of a gentleman in every sense of the word. He was always positive, upbeat, courteous and always had a smile on his face. I honestly never heard him say a bad word about anyone. I wish I could have known him longer, but I consider myself blessed to have had him for a friend and colleague."

In addition to this distinction, a 5K walk/run honoring Flanary was held Wed., Feb. 27 during the AAMA 82nd Annual Conference, to honor his lifetime of leadership.

The top three runners and walkers were given trophies and are as follows:

* First place: Tony Vella (Vision Extrusions Limited)
* Second place: Mark Fortun (Endura Products)
* Third place: Eric Vanderpool (Performance Additives)

Run Winners

* First place: Paule Provencher (CLEB Laboratory)
* Second place: Robert Jutras (CLEB Laboratory)
* Third place: Debra Franson (Quanex Building Products)


More information about AAMA and its activities can be found via the AAMA website,https://aamanet.org.

600450 AAMA Board of Directors votes unanimously to name Kim Flanary as Honorary Member glassonweb.com

Others also read

Topics will include coated glasses, common types of low-e application processes and the impact of glass on energy and environmental performance.
Registration is now open for the 2021 FGIA Virtual Annual Conference, which will be held February 23-25.
The National Glass Association (NGA) announced the cancellation of the Building Envelope Contractors (BEC) Conference scheduled for March 21-23 at Caesar’s Palace in Las Vegas.
The established limit ensures that all North American flat glass manufacturers have the opportunity to supply glass products to government works projects in California.
FGIA will host a webinar entitled “ICC 500-2020: Updates to the Tornado and Hurricane Storm Shelter Standard” on Tuesday, February 2 at 11:30 a.m. Eastern.
The German HEGLA Group has announced in January 2021 that it will expand its customer and service activities in the Asia/Pacific and MENA regions.

Add new comment

From industry


Trex Commercial Products
Diamon-Fusion International, Inc.
Trex Commercial Products
Diamon-Fusion International, Inc.
Diamon-Fusion International, Inc.
Trex Commercial Products