Presentation of the NHIC Annual Awards 2016

NHIC Annual Awards
Photo source
The National Home Improvement Council (NHIC)

Date: 5 December 2016

The National Home Improvement Council (NHIC) Annual Awards, which are in their 42nd year, recognise achievements in the home improvement sector and were presented at a special luncheon in London on 17th November.

Finalists in award categories covering a spectrum of home improvement projects and associated activities attended the prestigious event hosted by NHIC President Baroness Maddock.  

NHIC’s principal guest Dr Peter Bonfield FREng OBE, Chief Executive BRE, presented the awards and said “Attending these awards has been a real eye opener for me, the work being carried out by members of the NHIC to raise standards and protect consumers is inspiring and essential.”


The principal awards presented were for the following categories:

  • Energy Efficiency in Local Communities – Sponsored by British Gas

    • Winner - East Ayrshire Council.

    • Runner-up - E.ON Energy Solutions


  • Excellence in Roofing – Sponsored by the National Federation of Roofing Contractors

    • Winner and Runner-up - Monier Redland


  • Gas Safety in Social Housing – Sponsored by the Gas Safety Trust

    • Winner - Wakefield District Housing


  • Aluminium Systems for Windows, Doors and Facades – Sponsored by Schueco UK

    • Winner and Runner-up, L2i Limited


  • Home Improvements with Community Benefit – Sponsored by Quality Assured National Warranties

    • Winner, Amicus Horizon

    • Runner-up, Totalglaze


Anna Scothern, Executive Director of the NHIC, said “This year the judges were overwhelmed with the quality and quantity of entries and we were pleased to be able to award the special George Plucknett Award. This special award which recognises a project or company that most closely fulfils the objectives of the NHIC (to assist in consumer protection through sound standards of quality and safety in the delivery of home improvement) is not awarded every year and Amicus Horizon, through their customer-centred approach and on the ground delivery, impressed the judges.”

NHIC President Baroness Maddock said “These awards, first introduced in 1974, continue to help raise the profile of the many inspirational initiatives that are characteristic of our nation’s ingenuity in the field of housing.”


More details of the NHIC Annual Awards and winners can be found by visiting


Caption to photograph:

The team from Amicus Horizon receiving the special George Plucknett Award from Dr Peter Bonfield for their Coastal Space project.

600450 Presentation of the NHIC Annual Awards 2016

See more news about:

Others also read

FIT Show organisers are celebrating after receiving two prestigious awards shortlistings for its ten-year anniversary campaign for FIT Show 2023.
The deadline for submissions for the new edition of these awards, which recognise professionals in the window, façade and solar protection sector, is now open.
The organisers of the G-Awards are pleased to confirm that the G24 Awards will take place on Friday 29 November 2024 at the London Hilton Park Lane.
At the centre of this project is the use of OKALUX's innovative KAPILUX W glass.
BGT reference project - VoltAir, Berlin: weightless rooms for new work visions.
Vitro Architectural Glass announces new low embodied carbon projects, updates on sustainability objectives.

Add new comment


Rider Glass Company Limited
Wenfrod Glass Processing Co. (Tempered Glass Factory Turkey)