AAMA recognizes member leadership during awards banquet

The American Architectural Manufacturers Association (AAMA) recognized the contributions and achievements of its members and congratulated award winners at the 74th Annual Conference Awards Banquet held in Coronado (San Diego), Calif.

Award presenters noted the importance of these member contributions as they serve to further the industry as a whole.

Outstanding Member Award – Michael Kinard, Kinro Inc.

Michael Kinard, codes and regulatory consultant for Kinro Inc. of Arlington, Texas, was named Outstanding Member, as presented by the previous award winner, Kevin Seiling, VEKA Inc.

The Outstanding Member Award is given to an individual who has distinguished themselves in their work and dedication to the advancement of AAMA and the industry as a whole.

Kinard has participated in 46 committees during the 20 years that he has been active in AAMA and has served in the leadership of six of these committees. In presenting the award, Seiling described Kinard’s “untiring efforts in the hard work necessary to achieve positive results even in tough economic times.”

Kinard began his career in engineering work with Kinro, Inc., and founded a successful commercial fenestration company with his father, producing commercial storefronts, storm windows and doors and specialty window products for local builders. Kinard returned to Kinro, Inc. to become the vice president of engineering and now works as a consultant to the company.

Architectural Products Group Distinguished Service Award – Gantt Miller, Winco Manufacturing

The Distinguished Service Award for the Architectural Products Group was presented to Gantt Miller, CEO of Winco Manufacturing of St. Louis, by Steve Fronek, Apogee Enterprises, Inc.-Wausau Window and Wall Systems, recipient of last year’s award.

This award is given to an individual who accomplishes formative work on behalf of the association and the Architectural Products Group.

Fronek noted that Miller “has been instrumental in protecting and strengthening the fortunes of AAMA in a time of adversity for our industry.” In his 10-year involvement with AAMA, Miller has been a contributor to 42 different AAMA committees and task groups and is currently involved in 25 of those committees. He has served as chairman of the AAMA Board of Directors in addition to numerous other groups and roles involved in guiding the day-to-day operations of AAMA.

Miller has worked at Winco Manufacturing for 30 years, having previously worked as a residential developer and maintaining an architectural practice.

Residential Products Group Distinguished Service Award – Steve Strawn, JELD-WEN, Inc.

The Distinguished Service Award for the Residential Products Group was presented to Steve Strawn, product compliance policy manager for JELD-WEN, Inc. of Portland, Ore., by Rod Hershberger, PGT Industries, president of the Residential Products Group.

This award is given to an individual who accomplishes formative work on behalf of the association and the Residential Products Group.

In his nine-year involvement with AAMA, Strawn has participated in 88 AAMA task groups, committees or councils and currently serves as an active contributor to all 12 of the AAMA material and product councils. He is co-chair of the AAMA Code Action Committee and is an active member of 20 other committees including the Green and Sustainability Specification Development Task Group and the North American Fenestration Standard Committee.

Strawn has been with JELD-WEN, Inc. for more than 20 years, beginning as a group manager directing wood and window assembly and was instrumental in the introduction of vinyl window production to the company.

Marketing Distinguished Service Award- Kathy Krafka-Harkema, Pella Corporation

The Marketing Distinguished Service Award was presented to Kathy Krafka-Harkema, Corporate, public relations manager for Pella Corporation of Pella, Iowa, by Kim Flanary, Milgard Manufacturing, Inc., recipient of the previous year’s award.

This award is presented to acknowledge a single individual who has exhibited leadership and outstanding service in marketing.

Flanary stated that despite the inherent challenges of maintaining an effective synergy between technical and marketing disciplines, Krafka-Harkema is a “strong and effective team player” who has played a key role in the multitude of marketing topics and projects at AAMA meetings and within the committee and task group structure.

Krafka-Harkema has worked as an active contributor to 13 marketing-related committees and task groups and has remained involved in all aspects of marketing, from research to training to planning and communications and material production.

Additionally, chairs of AAMA task groups and other leaders were also recognized at the banquet. AAMA CEO and President Rich Walker commented that “it is essential to recognize the AAMA members who faithfully share their time, experience and knowledge to further the goals and initiatives at the task group and committee levels. The membership’s contribution of time and effort plays an integral part in the continued success of the association.”

Also during the Awards Banquet, the current AAMA Board of Directors was honored, and the changes in leadership on the Board were announced. Hershberger, having served as the chairman of the board for the past two years will now assume the role of vice chairman. Fronek, who has been serving for the past two years as vice chairman will now assume the role of chairman.

To learn more about AAMA, please visit www.aamanet.org. Sign up to get the AAMA latest news through the AAMA News and What’s New feeds.

600450 AAMA recognizes member leadership during awards banquet glassonweb.com

See more news about:

Others also read

Wojan Window & Door Breaks Ground on Charlevoix Factory Expansion
Wojan Window & Door has begun a two-phase expansion project at its Charlevoix, Mich. manufacturing facility.
Twinbolt locking system
P C Henderson is pleased to launch our new Twinbolt locking system for use with our leading exterior door hardware system, Securefold.
Mila announces plans for FIT Show 2019
Mila has announced that it will be back at the FIT Show in 2019. The hardware specialist, which made such a memorable impact at the show in both 2013 and 2016, is promising an exciting stand once again, packed with new products and innovations.
ANUDAL INDUSTRIAL distributes motors for COMUNELLO projecting windows
ANUDAL is a company specialised in the manufacture of accessories for aluminium carpentry, specifically brackets, joints, punching machines, preframes, handles, special mechanisms and a new line of structures for supports and anchors for curtain walls.
Ben Alcock
Ben Alcock, Business Development Manager at sealant, adhesive and tape specialists illbruck, explains why impregnated tape is the future of window installation.
ClearVue receives AS 2047 accreditation allowing for sale of its high-tech solar window in Australia
Smart building material company ClearVue Technologies Limited is pleased to announce it has now taken the next step on its commercialisation path, confirming certification of its solar window technology to Australian Standard AS 2047 (refer to ASX
Announcement of 4 June 2018).

Add new comment