Three new leaders elected to AIA Board of Directors

Three new leaders elected to AIA Board of Directors
Photo source

Date: 10 June 2024

Three new leaders have been elected to The American Institute of Architects’ (AIA) Board of Directors, to serve terms beginning on December 13, 2024.

AIA delegates elected:
•    Illya Azaroff, FAIA as 2025 President-elect/2026 President; 
•    Joshua Flowers, FAIA as 2025-2026 Secretary; 
•    Matthew Toddy, AIA as 2025 -2027 At-Large Director.

Illya Azaroff, FAIA, is the founding principal of +LAB Architect and a distinguished architect, geographer, and professor at the New York City of Technology (CUNY). Azaroff has led at every level of AIA, from founding committees to serving as the 2021 AIA New York State president.

Having chaired the COP28 delegation to Dubai, he currently holds the position of Chair of CCADE - Committee on Climate Action and Design Excellence and serves as an At-Large Director on the AIA National Board.

“Our collective mission at the AIA is profound—to create a world that's resilient, sustainable, and equitable. I believe that the institute must act as a catalyst, propelling each member forward, providing the resources for success,” said Azaroff.

Joshua Flowers, FAIA, is a registered architect and licensed attorney. Flowers’ leadership within AIA includes being the 2024 Vice Moderator of the AIA Strategic Council where he leads AIA’s efforts to study issues affecting the future of the profession. Flowers was president of AIA Tennessee in 2019 and AIA Memphis in 2012.

As secretary, Flowers will focus on advancing shared imperatives, communication and transparency, and facilitating change. Flowers said, “Clear and open channels of communication are essential not only for decision-making processes but also for promoting inclusivity and collaboration across the local, state, and national levels of the AIA."

Matthew Toddy, AIA is a Principal at Elevation Studio and an active member of AIA Columbus and AIA Ohio. Toddy served as the 2022 President of AIA Columbus and was the 2023 AIA Young Architects Forum Chair. Recently, Toddy was recognized with the 2023 Mentor Award from AIA Ohio and served on the 2024 AIA National Conference Advisory Group.

"We must work together to elevate architects in our communities into positions of influence. By raising public awareness, connecting with key stakeholders, and equipping architects to be citizen leaders, we can advocate for the importance and value of design in shaping our communities," said Toddy.

Complete leadership information can be found on AIA’s website.

600450 Three new leaders elected to AIA Board of Directors

See more news about:

Others also read

Viprotron North America is pleased to announce the addition of Jakub Kowalczyk to their team as the new Customer Experience Director.
TGAC launches new educational webinar series for architects and façade professionals.
LiteSentry and Softsolution are thrilled to announce the appointment of David Cousins as the new Regional Sales Manager for the West Region of North America.
IGE proudly announces the promotion of their long-term and valued employee, Tang, to SVP of Engineering & Tooling.
The Board of Directors of Eastman Chemical Company has elected Mr. Donald Slager as a director.
AIA will host the premier event for the architecture, engineering, and construction (AEC) industry in Washington, D.C. June 5-8.

Add new comment