Conference "Eurocodes, Building Codes for Europe"

Date: 25 March 2002
Source: UNI

Date: 25 March 2002

The Eurocodes will form a set of 58 standards, which provide structural design rules used for the design of structures (buildings and civil engineering works) and structural products.

Those methods are intended to become the recommended means used in Europe, to design construction works and to check their conformity to the essential requirements N°1 (mechanical resistance and stability, including such aspects linked to N°4 safety in use), and aspects of N°2 (safety in case of fire).

A first set of "Eurocodes" was developed under the responsibility of the Commission, in co-operation with Member States, and published in 1984. In 1989, the preparation and the publication of the Eurocodes were transferred to CEN through a series of mandates given by the Commission. Therefore, the Eurocodes have taken the status of European standards. Then CEN has prepared a series of "pre-standards, completed in 1998. These pre-standards (ENVs) were established in such a way that Member States were allowed to alter many rules and numerical values.

Since 1998, CEN has started to convert the "pre-standards" into "European standards EN", with the support of the European Commission (improving the formulation of the models, and reducing the national choices now called "Nationally Determined Parameters - NDPs). The first two standards in the new series were approved in 2001. In 2002, we are expecting 8 new standards, making 10 out of the 58 expected.

The aim of the conference is to present the Eurocodes to a wide audience covering all areas of the construction sector. The benefits, content, route for implementation, practicability and organisation of the project work will also be covered in depth. There will be opportunities for participants to discuss and share experiences on the future use and accessibility of the Eurocodes.

600450 Conference "Eurocodes, Building Codes for Europe"

See more news about:

Others also read

The National Green Building Standard (NGBS) appointed Tom Culp, Ph.D., of Birch Point Consulting LLC and NGA Energy Code Consultant, to the 2024 ICC 700 Residential Green Building Standard Consensus Committee.
Thirsty Thursday returns October 28th with "Code Regulations for Existing Buildings" presented by Thom Zaremba.
Popular bi-annual glass conference just one week away!
WDMA released the 2019 WDMA National Policy Agenda which outlines important policy priorities for the window, door, and skylight industry.
Yale Door and Window Solutions has responded to Dame Judith Hackitt’s Independent Review of Building Regulations and Fire Safety.
The timely topic of wind and water-related codes was addressed at the American Architectural Manufacturers Association (AAMA) 2017 National Fall Conference.

Add new comment